Skip to content
Open today 10am-5pm

Who we are, how we're run, how we are funded

The Board of Trustees has overall responsibility for management of the Museum. The Board delegate this authority to our Director Sonia Solicari.

The Board of Trustees is currently made up of 14 members including the Chair. The Secretary of State for Culture appoints the Chair and three trustees. The Board appoints the remaining trustees. The Board meets four to six times a year.

The Director, who is appointed Accounting Officer by the DCMS, is responsible to the Board of Trustees for the development of the Museum and its day-to-day management.

The Leadership team is the key decision-making team that looks after operations and delivers the Museum's strategy and plan. The team meet every two weeks.

Our Board of Trustees

We're led by a dedicated, experienced and voluntary Board of Trustees. Our trustees are responsible for policy, financial accountability and the overall management of the Museum.

  • Chair (vacant)
  • Charles Colville (appointed in 2021)
  • Christine Chang Hanway (appointed in 2019)
  • Alain Clapham (appointed in 2021)
  • Janet Chapman (appointed in 2020)
  • Katherine Hudson (appointed in 2023)
  • Rose Hulse (appointed in 2023)
  • Arthur Kay (appointed in 2021)
  • Robert Ketteridge (appointed in 2019)
  • Caroline Malone (appointed in 2021)
  • Mercy Muroki (appointed in 2021)
  • Rania Nur (appointed in 2021)
  • Jon O'Donoghue (appointed in 2023)
  • John Shakeshaft - (appointed in 2020)

Our Leadership Team

Our Leadership Team is the key decision-making team that leads the day-to-day management of our employees, looks after operations and delivers the Museum’s strategy and plan. The team reports to the board of trustees.

  • Director – Sonia Solicari
  • Director: Creative Programmes and Collections – Danielle Patten
  • Director: Operations and Finance – Frank Penter
  • Head of Finance - Graeme Silcocks
  • Head of Development - Alice Painting
  • Head of Communications - Liberty Ip
  • Head of HR - Nadine Swaffield

How we are funded

We are the Museum of the Home. We are an independent charitable company limited by guarantee set up as the Geffrye Museum Trust in 1990, registered charity number 803052, company number 2476642.

The Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) financially supports the Trust by grant-aid. We supplement this with earned income, donations and sponsorship.

The National Lottery Heritage Fund has granted £12.3m to support the redevelopment. We have also received significant support for the capital campaign from major donors, trusts and foundations, companies and individuals.

In 2018 we were an Arts Council England National Portfolio Organisation.

National Lottery Heritage Fund logo   


Plans, reports and policies

Here are our latest annual report and accounts and our up-to-date policies.

Vision in Action

The Museum of the Home has emerged from the global pandemic and is realising its vision, with issues-focused programming and a celebration of diverse collections that pose the question, What does home mean to you?